ACS Colloids 2012 Symposium

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Langmuir Student Awards

Langmuir Student Awards

E-mail Print PDF

Application Judges: Eric Furst & Lynn Walker

Presentation Judges: Steve Granick, John Walz & David Whitten

The 10 selected students are:

Student Name Abstract Title
P. J. Beltramo Dielectric spectroscopy of colloidal suspensions across the fluid-crystal transition
D. J. Beltran Energy and Diffusivity Landscapes for Colloidal Crystal Assembly
L. Chen Aggregation and Interfacial Behavior of Charged Surfactants in Ionic Liquids
T. Cong Structure, rheology and optical properties of self-assembled micelle-nanoparticle plasmonic nanogels
T. L. Dursch Non-isothermal ice-crystallization kinetics in the gas-diffusion layer of a proton-exchange-membrane fuel cell
L. Fu Characterization of Proteins at Interfaces by Chiral Sum Frequency Generation Spectroscopy
R. Gupta Role of Draining Channels in Hydrodynamic Interactions
A. D. Jewell Robust and enantiospecific molecular self-assembly on metal surfaces
A. P. Kotulla Dynamics of adsorption of particles to fluid-fluid interfaces in a microchannel
K. L. Larson Synthesis of self-assembling nanoparticle clusters through polymeric steric stabilization

Langmuir awards for graduate student research in colloids and surface science

New to the 86th ACS Colloids and Surface Symposium are the Langmuir Student Awards and the Langmuir Presentation Award. These awards aim to recognize excellence in research and in oral presentations in the field of Colloids and Surface Chemistry.

The selection of awardees will be based upon an application, which consists of a long abstract, a 2-page CV, and a recommendation letter submitted to the 86th Colloids and Surface Symposium. Awardees will receive partial support to attend the meeting in the form of waived registration fee.

Any student who is past the first year of graduate study, who will be enrolled in graduate school at the time of the Symposium in June is eligible. Students interested in competing for one of the Langmuir Student Awards should follow the general procedures for applying to the meeting, with the modified deadline outlined below. Langmuir award winners will be chosen based on the following criteria:

  1. Originality, significance, quality, and other criteria normally accepted in evaluation of scientific work.
  2. Contribution from the student as distinct from the advisor.
  3. Potential promise of the student as a future investigator.

The deadline for submitting the long abstracts is February 1st and will not be extended.

Abstracts Submission

Students wishing to apply for a Langmuir Student Award must select the Langmuir Award Topical session and submit a regular abstract to a second topical session of their choice. After selecting the Langmuir Award Session, the students need to submit in a single PDF file before February 1st 2012: 1) A long abstract of a maximum of two pages, 2) A 2-page CV that includes the anticipated graduation date. In addition, a recommendation letter from the PhD advisor needs to be sent to Michael Bevan ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ) using Langmuir Award and the name of the student as the email subject. Selection of the students to the Langmuir Student Award session will be based on the material submitted. Students whose abstracts are not selected for the Langmuir Student Award Session will present in a regular topical session. Students will be notified of their acceptance to the Langmuir paper award session by March 1st 2012.

The long abstract will only be used for the selection of the student and will not be posted online or in the abstract booklet. The long abstract can include figures and tables as long as the document remains within the 2-page limit.

Selected Students

The 10 selected students will present their paper in the Langmuir Student Award topical session, which will be open to all attendees of the 86th ACS Colloids and Surface Symposium. Other applicants that are not selected will present their work in one of the other topical sessions of the symposium. The Langmuir Student Award Session will form the basis for choosing the Langmuir Presentation Award, also sponsored by Langmuir for the best presentation. The winner of the Langmuir Presentation Award will receive a cash prize of $750 in addition with the waived registration associated with being selected to participate in the Langmuir Student Award Session. The second place winner will receive an award of $250 in addition to the waived registration.

Introduction of the selected students and winners will be done during the Banquet on June 12 2012.

For more information, please contact Professor Joelle Frechette ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ).